ISSUE TOPIC

Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A government is a representative body - representing an entire nation or a state - and the expectation of its public that the government should try to address all their problems is a regular assumption. While it is a no-brainer that all governments should, at least, attempt the same, it is equally evident that it would be a tough ask for any government to address all of them. Based on the assumption that governments have limited funds to dispense, a witty choice of the problems addressable - among a plethora - would be the best position for any government to take. A deep analysis on the severity of the problems based on the potential consequences they would, otherwise, inflict on several dimensions of society if left unaddressed would be supportive in the prioritization of the problems.

The statement shifts the weight of needing solutions to problems in favor of 'immediate problems'. The inherent assumption behind it is that the gravity of the need to address the immediate problems outweighs that of the anticipated problems of the future. It, however, doesn't account for the nature of the problems on several grounds of measurements or categorization - impacts, ease in solving, budget requirement etcetra. Many a times, it becomes important for a government to focus on the immediate problems - as when riots and protests emerge in response to persistent inequalities or certain misdeeds or some controversy. Since the start of this year, in response to the unprecedented Covid-19 pandemic - a virus causing respiratory ailment - the world governments have zeroed in on the ways to contain the pandemic. The rate of increasing infections and death toll is a justification to the entire limelight being put by the governments over this pandemic.

However, the government should also prepare for the frightful consequences such as economic recession - like the famous if tragic, 'The Great Depression' -, changes in public attitudes to different sectors, and many more when the pandemic subsides. It is to say that the potential harms the anticipated problems can leave shouldn't be undermined. Indeed, the countries which prepare themselves beforehand a problem can get an edge over others when one occurs in reality. Global warming and climate change are also the anticipated problems of the future, which often make to the roundtable discussions and debates. The consequences of climate change and global warming, from the evidences available, would be harsh on the future generations. Any reluctance to act now on the ways to mitigate the impacts of climate change could exact a toll on, even, the survival of the future generation.

Having said that, the circumstances under which the governments are operating are as diverse as imaginable, and the same attitude to problem-solving would not apply to all. But the basic premise is that, among a variety of problems, the government should focus on the pressing ones, which when remedied, would yield the best returns at the expense of limited resources available. The immediate problems could be directly related to the well-being of the country like unemployment, poverty, corrupted bureaucracy, fragile health-care and education system, and thus it would be imperative to focus on these immediate problems. But, it would be logical to keep into consideration that the opportunity cost of not solving either of a problem should not surpass the other.

To sum up, the focus of the governments should not be held fast to the rigid assumption that the immediate problems should the ones to be addressed, and not the anticipated problems of the future. A resource-constrained government would have its best did it oscillated its focus between the dichotomous problems based on the odds of reaping greater benefits from having them solved to not having them solved.