"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station, the author comes to the conclusion that they should switch to a more popular 'news and talk format' - a form of radio - in an attempt to reverse the decline in listener numbers. The author sees a need to change from its current rock-music format but, quickly debases it by citing the evidence of declining local sales of recorded music. While it may be true that the existing rock-music format is linked to the decline in audience, it over-relies on the assumption that a news and talk format will reverse the fortunes. The series of assumptions rallying to the conclusions are not strong enough to support the author's standing.

The author's conclusion of changing the music format traces its roots to the assumption that the decline in listeners is attributed to a change in taste of music listeners. However, the memorandum doesn't consider several other potential factors that might have contributed to the decline. For example, the quality of the music they cater to their audience may have lowered over the time. The author goes on to account for the apparent lack of strength in the argument by citing that a decline in local sales of recorded music suggested limited interest in music. Volume of local sales of recorded music is too narrow a basis to assess the music interest of a particular locality. It seems even more illogical in times of digital marketing, when music can be purchased and listened to online. Unless it can be asserted that the decline in listeners' number is due to the change in music taste or interest, the author's argument cannot be supported.

Keeping into consideration disparate music tastes between residencies, the author offers to cater music tailored to the taste of new residents, which he/she negates suggesting limited music taste from the implications of declining local sales of recorded music. However, the author fails to acknowledge that the music taste of the native residents might too have evolved over the past. The argument clearly lack enough evidences regarding the music taste and interest of local residents and the newer ones. Also, not acknowledging the fact that new comers to the residencies around the station could be from diverse fields, communities and states, and which makes the tailoring to their taste extremely arduous, the author only appears to be desperate to increase the number of listeners.

Another assumption building up to the conclusion is that a news and talk format will help in increasing the audience. While the increasingly popular form of the radio might help the cause, it doesn't warrant a sure-shot increase in listeners' numbers against the likes of services of established radio runnig in that format. Furthermore, the radio would not necessarily have an easy time forming and growing its own listeners group. To further weaken the claim, by the time the radio switched to and operated under the format, the format might well be outmoded by an another one. To strengthen his/her arguments, the author would like to find out whether the radio newly switched to the popular format were having a increasing flow of listeners. In other possibilities, the radio might even lose the audience they have already built in a quest of increasing the listener numbers through unwarranted attempts. The author'd his/her best did he/she checked if the decline in the number could be due to the transfer of audience to the radio operating under similar format.

While switching to the popular form of radio can attract a greater audience, the evidences presented by the author in support of his/her conclusions are inadequate. Full of assumptions, the argument needs more research and information is needed in order for the radio take the decision against the current rock-music format.