Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The writer contends that colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relavant to the courses they teach. In some fields, the writer's suggestion might be very beneficial in order to develop the cogent concept of the courses.

In the field of engineering, when a faculty spend time in professions relavant to the courses she teach, she knows the real condition of her field, the sector where the research and innovation has to be done in order to make the people's life easier. She knows solid concept of that field. For example, one of my friend, who is a civil engineer and a teacher as well. Initially, he used to have not good knowledge despite his academic was very good. Later along with the teaching, he started to work in a company which designs the houses. I found that, his knowledge after working few years in that company, he became so clear in his sector. At the same time, he is able to make clear the concepts of the field in his classroom in the univirsity. He became more congent and persuasive.

In the field like game management, if we require a faculty to spend in the game, he can teach very well in the classroom. When he go to the playgroung and work, he better understand the real situations and later he can elucidate to his students more cle