Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

There is always a controversial about whether all the faculty are required to spend their time outside the college for the sake of getting enough practical knowledge and benefit not only the students they imparted but also to themselves to be a well-rounded person. Though I agree partly that the implementing of the policy might help a given fraction of teachers in some measure of ameliorating their academic skills and acquire more relevant experiences, the potential risk cannot be fully ignored before making a proper judgment.

The threshold merit of the policy is that teachers can benefit from the course of working since the outside factory or other job positions will be more accentuate on the practical using of the technic, while class in school is more narrow and focus mainly on the foundation of the theoretical principles and the analyzing of the sophisticated laws and data. Subsequently, It can easily imagine that when the professor teaches the same content for several times, I am not denying that it will render the teacher opportunity to comprehend the imparted materials more thoroughly, the result of the monotonous teaching task will bored them and eventually the teacher losing their enthusiasm inevitably causes a drowsiness in class, hence no profound understanding is guarantee not to mention raising students’ interests about specific field. However, considering the progressing and innovative nature of the working, the profession will update their system of knowledge then adopt a more efficient method in class with pictures, stories, vivid examples, even the advanced technic not introduced in established textbook. In sum, the students will benefit dramatically from the combination of practicality imparted by the well-rounded professors and theories on text books which necessary for students to get a better shot in future job market.

Moreover, the implementing of policy will undoubtedly benefit the teachers themselves. Since we agree that an excellent teacher is not defined as those who only strict on the students' academic grades, but the people who are able to raise their interest , notice their inner specific desire of the knowledge and guide students when they are in a dilemma, Thus, after experiencing the unique working, they will be more confident about the world and give more insightful advise to their students. Additionally, the requirement of being a qualified university professor includes the assessment of their scientific research in their field, a practical experience access a more critical thinking about the existing theories and indisputable to lead a further progress in that field.

However, we cannot be blind to the fact that in some field of science, the suited working position is not existed or hard to participate. Consequently, the policy has its indefensible flaws. For example, the study of the application of nuclear resource which is the technic that using the neutron to strike on the heavy nuclei then transform the released energy into other energy forms. The government will be not possible to find a proper position for every nuclear professor. As for the orchestration of the schedule of the extra working and preparation process of teaching, we are not anticipated that the teachers immerse in the working and ignore their foundation needs of students.

In a nutshell, the policy has its certain merits, especially in raising the interests among students and guided them in a swift changing job market to find a proper and suitable jobs. Nevertheless, the priority should be given to how to avoid the hazard of wasting time and how to offset the detrimental factors by proper regulations of implementing the policy.