Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many students study abroad these days with the purpose of learning to think in different perspectives and experiencing diverse cultures. It would help students to be more flexible in the way they think and edify their insular minds. However, it needs to be debated whether it would be beneficial to all the students. I believe that having the experience of studying in a foreign country would be beneficial, but not for all the students. Furthermore, forcing students does not seem like a apropos idea.

First of all, for students who are majoring in studies which requires knowledge of and have the ability to adapt to diverse cultures, it would be extremely advantageous if colleges or universities provide such students an opportunity to study in foreign countries. To be specific, fields such as design, business, and literature differs in many countries based on its culture. Only learning them by theory and actually seeing and experiencing the diversity could have excessive difference. However, for studies that are similar throughout the countries, such as engineering or natural science, studying abroad does not make much difference. If it is not beneficial, why bother to leave their home country and study abroad? It takes extensive amount of money and effort in adapting and preparing to live in a different country.

Moreover, having students to study in a foreign country may seem compulsory and puts them in a lot of pressure. Being pressured to do something one does not want to do may lead to receiving excessive amount of stress and causing them to falter in their study. Students who does not like to be put in new environments and have a hard time adapting to such environment would constantly fear of having to leave their comfortable environment. This could cause students to act in a problematic way or even have to see a psychiatrist to eliminate their stress and anxiety. Forcing students to do certain things is never a good. Just leaving it for the students to decide whether they would like to study in foreign countries would be better than forcing them.

To sum up, some might say because it is beneficial for someone to experience diverse cultures and perspectives, it is necessary to study in foreign countries. However, it is not up to colleges or universities to force students to do certain things. While it may be advantageous to study abroad, it is plausible only for students who are majoring in certain types of field. Also, forcing students to study abroad even for those who does not like to be would cause students to receive pressure and a lot of stress, which may lead to students acting out or lacking in their study.