Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Selecting one's college major is one of the tedious tasks that require profound thinking and focus, despite this we are still considering the possibility of sending the students to spend at least a semester studying in a foreign country. I mostly disagree with the given prompt of sending the students to a foreign country for studying amid their ongoing semester, due to the following reasons.

Firstly, it is not feasible to send every student outside because the cost factor plays a major role here. Even if the students are allowed to study in a foreign country, it would not be uncommon for most of the families to satisfy with the cost of sending their students. For instance, while it is no issue for a rich family to send their students outside for studying, it would be problematic for a middle-class or a poor family to afford the cost of sending their students. They earn a little amount of money, most of which is spent on fulfilling their daily needs like food, medicine, tax, bills, etc. Hence, it is unsettling for these families to send their students abroad. However, if the cost is taken care of by the government or the colleges and universities for the poor and middle-class families, then it would be feasible to think about it.

Secondly, sending the students to study abroad amid semester would arise a few difficulties for the students to cope up with the education system followed by the foreign country. Juxtaposing the education system of one's country with the other, many factors would appear to tell the difference between the patterns followed by both the countries. This might be laborious for a student to understand the pattern followed by a foreign country. For instance, the students have to deal with the different culture, the language, rules, and regulation of the foreign country which may hinder the growth. It would take longer for the student to settle with the environment while other local students would able to deal with this, without any issue.

Nevertheless, change is a part of life. As time passes, people change. Without change, one cannot ameliorate their growth. If the students are sent to study abroad then they might interact with people of different backgrounds which will ultimately help them to enhance their personality. Let us take the example of the people of India. Earlier, Indian students used to be shy and reserved, but, now many Indian aspirants are looking forward to studying abroad and are putting forward to bring change in themselves. Many students are applying for higher degrees in the US such as MS, MBA, etc. Now, the population of the US has been occupied by Indians too.

To summarize, it is not feasible to send every student to spend their semester studying in a foreign country until and unless the choice is made by the student itself. The above-mentioned factors must be adhered to before sending the students abroad for studying.