Color photography has eliminated the need for realism in artistic painting, in the opinion of a number of art scholars and artists. At the same time, many members of the art community still feel that realistic artwork is still valuable and worthwhile.

Art is a mirror to society and with passing years, technology has made a huge impact on arts. Photography and painting are just two of multiple mediums of expression for an artist. While some argue that Color photography has eliminated the need for realism in artistic painting, others are of the opinion that realistic artwork is still valuable and worthwhile. However, the fact of the matter is, with the advances in photography, color photography has diminished the need for realistic painting.

The number of entries for yearly photography contest has been rising year on year. This rising trend indicates the increasing number of artists using photography as a medium of expression. Any art that affects people becomes more valuable. And with the rising popularity of photography, the worth of photography as an art is increasing. We have seen in recent years how one photograph can move the world. A photograph of a toddler's body washed away on the shore of a beach in Europe while trying to flee the war torn area had made headlines. It not only highlighted the crisis in Syria but also evoked emotions of empathy in people across the globe.

Additionally, the technology has had a profound impact on photography. There is absolute realism in a photograph. When a photograph is clicked it captures and freezes that moment in time and the photographer can only try to click as realistic a picture as possible. On the other hand, however realistic a painting is, it is affected by the emotions of the artist. Every painting has an element of artist in it, thereby projecting the reality as seen by an artist. This can be advantageous in situations when the intent of artist is to highlight an issue unrecognised by people.

Finally, with the advent of technology in photography, it is possible to showcase the reality as is. It has also become more accessible to common people and hence, the usage of photography as a medium of expression is bound to increase. So, although realistic painting is valuable in many respects, it's worth is decreasing with the rise of photography.