Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Education plays an important role in moulding the character of a person. Colleges and universities are the medium to impart best education, and so it is also their responsibility for the overall development of the students. Thus colleges and universities must require their students to spend atleast one semester studying in a foreign country.

Globalisation and the advent of internet has made the boundaries disappear with increasing trade between countries and more social connect between people. A young graduate now has to be aware of the global conditions in order to sustain and succeed in a competitive world. The onus of shaping the current generation and preparing them for the competitive, global market is on colleges and universities. So, it becomes necessary for colleges and universities to provide the students opportunities for exploring the world along with education.

Additionally, there are many advantages when the students move to a foreign country. A foreign exchange student is exposed to struggles of living in a foreign country and makes him more aware and adaptive to cirsumstances. A student from US who moves to India as a foreign exchange student will have the opportunity to explore a completely different country with it's enormous population of diverse beliefs and faiths and a completely different lifestyle. The students who have been exposed to multiple countries have a better world view and when such students become policy makers or leaders in their organisation have a better insight and edge in comparison to others.

Moreover, in today's world work is not limited to mundane tasks and is more challenging. One has to work with team members of different ethnicities, origins and so on. As a foreign student is exposed to such multicultural environment during graduation, he/she is better equipped when it comes to dealing with many people in organistaion. Having spent some time in foreign country makes one more empathetic and socially aware which is a huge advantage when working in a diverse work environment.

The colleges and universitites whose alumni make a name in their respective careers also benefits colleges in return. However, it may not be feasible for every student to make up for the expenses of studying in a foreign country. In such a case, universities can fund the student for a semester's foreign education which will in turn be beneficial to the university. In conclusion, in order to survive in current work environment studying in a foreign country is essential for overall growth and development of a student's career and colleges and universities must encourage the students for it.