Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The claims are based on the assumption that e-mail correspondences contain information that might be redundant or give rise to unwanted situations needing legal attention. Such a claim is plausible since employees are often not aware of all the Information Security Policies or ISP and even if they are, nuances in understanding might lead to situations unwarranted for.

Consider the case of an employee who is in complete compliance with the ISP, such a monitoring activity will have no red flags for the employee to worry about, neither the company. Minor aberrations in the form of personal correspondences may be overlooked if no sensitive information is shared. Also, the company might be able to suggest ways to efficaciously manage their task to improve their efficiency which benefits the individual and company.

Now, if an employee knowingly or unknowingly is involved in activities outside of legal boundaries, like downloading content like music from piracy hubs and copyrighted material from shady sources, use unethical ways to reach their targets as in the of Volkswagen and their emission scenario. A firewall in place might help but if found a way around it due to malicious intent, monitoring on a regular basis will thwart such intents if existing. It will also help the management tackle the situation before it becomes way more expensive in the form of lawsuits as experienced by Volkswagen.

Some employees also have the tendency to use such resources available to them recklessly and at time, also use it for personal benefit rather than intended use. This is a common phenomena in which same files are transferred across multiple users and occupies much more space than if properly managed. They may engage in using the company resources like printers for getting print outs for their personal use to save some money by sending it to their corporate e-mails from personal ones. Such activities maybe harmless, but shouldn't be condoned if over a limit as it aids to wastage of resources as well as time.

One might argue that such oversight is a sign of breach of trust or intrusion but, when a part of the company, irrespective of the activities, work related or not, that an individual is involved in; the liability lies with the company management. Hence, such a measure to protect the wider interest and reputation is cogent enough to enforce.