Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The letter begins with an obvious bias. The parent has based the entire argument on the basis of feedback received from their son and his friends. The argument may not be representative of the entire class. Maybe just their son and his friends didn't find the food enjoyable. Such instances of not being able to enjoy the food maybe linked to other reasons. The son may have been reprimanded, just had an unpleasant experience. This harbored anger or frustration might have ruined the food experience.

Another domain where the argument lacks cogency is that the food is described as not enjoyable by some students and not fatty or calorie intensive. Swift Nutrition was hired to provide low fat, low calorie meals. Taste is subjective and such claims may not represent the views of the entire school. Also, the argument mentions that it was a singular event in the past and hasn't been linked to a consistent phenomena which implies that this might have been a temporary issue if exists at all.

The argument also accuses the plan of selecting Swift Nutrition as the vendor to fail as students might be inclined to bring less healthy options for lunch to school. As nutrition requirements may be specific to individuals, healthy food takes different forms and may not be generic to the entire school population. The accusation protracts to claim that their will be serious health consequences as the healthiness of the food hasn't been questioned anywhere in the parent's letter, rather the taste might have led to the dislike. Hence the decision of hiring Swift Nutrition for low-fat, low-calorie diet may still be valid.

Hence, this letter sounds like a rant from parent who is upset that her child is unhappy. Maybe the reason isn't even food but that's what she is told to believe and emotions may have triggered her to make it right by addressing this issue to make their son happy.