Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence requires extra time and system capacity and hence, Company management should eschew from doing such monitoring.

A company consists of its employee and management team. While it is the duty of the employee to do the job for which they were appointed, the management team looks over the overall work performance of the employee. In this modern era e-mail is a popular medium of sending official letter or any kind of documents from one person to another. Likewise, in this modern era every company requires its employee to send and receive e-mail. However, it may happen that apart from the particular job an employee has some other jobs to do which requires e-mailing. But this should not be a problem for the company if the output from the employee is satisfactory. So, there is no point to monitor the e-mail correspondence as it can cause serious harm to the overall performance of the company. For example, in a company of tens of thousands of employee, in order to monitor all employee e-mail the particular company should appoint some personal which requires extra cost. If the company can ensure that the output from the employee is satisfactory then there is no need for monitoring email correspondence of employee. Output from employee, however, can cause from other facts and if the company only concentrate on the email correspondence then the actual fact will be overlooked which will hurt the company.

A person has his own privacy and company should not go after it. For example, an employee is maintaining his other business work while doing the job and the business work requires some secret document to be sent or received daily by the employee. So, in this case if the company monitor his e-mail then the personal information of the employee will be at risk.

However, it is true that company gives money to the employee for doing job for the company in the working hour and employee should not do other private job in this time and for this the company can appoint some personal to monitor the email correspondence. But before doing this they must warn the employee about this fact.

A company should not monitor email correspondence of employee.