Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Email is most common communication medium used in corporate world. Email helps you to send your message across the world in minutes. Each employee of a company has their email account configured. It is very important for the company to monitor the email correspondence of the employee. It will help the company very well.

If the company starts monitoring email correspondence, then employees will not misuse the email account of the company. Employees tend to make personal emails and emails that are not relevant to the company. Monitoring will reduce this activities and it will also make employees feel that there is someone who is monitoring these emails. It will cut short the personal work related mails of employees.

Monitoring of email correspondence will also help company to reduce their system capacity of email storage. If company knows what system size is required for particular level of employees, it can configure that particular level of employees will get only limited amount of system space. This will reduce unnecessary mails being kept in the system space and only relevant email will remain in the system. Other mails can be archived and deleted. This can save lot of money required for system space and it can be invested at other place.

Sometimes companies are involved in lawsuits for violating laws made for emails. This situation can be omitted by having monitoring in place for email correspondence. If the company is monitoring the emails, it can know about what can potentially violate restrictions of email. So the company can simply reject that email and protect itself from involving in lawsuits at later stage. This way monitoring of email correspondence can protect company from lawsuits.

Someone can argue that putting so many restrictions and monitoring on email correspondence may hamper company's image and there exists a case where the employees may not prefer the company for work as other companies may not have this much restrictions. But this monitoring and restrictions will eventually help company from wasting its resources and it will save time and money for the company. It is possible that other companies will also start this kind of monitoring and restrictions on email because of previous consequences. So it is better to have monitoring of email which will help the company grow better.

In nutshell, we can say that monitoring of email correspondence helps company is many ways staring from saving time and money to saving system space and protecting it from lawsuits. So for betterment of the company, it should conduct routine monitoring of all employee email correspondence.