Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The competition is very important at every level of education if it motivates the students. When students compete with each other’s for grades then it is not a healthy competition and it deteriorate the learning of the student. From my perspective, the give statement is true that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality at all levels of education. In the following paragraphs, some convincing reasons will be delineated to elaborate my personal stance.

Firstly, in high ranked schools and college admissions admission criteria is high scores. Every student has dream to study to study in such colleges so, they study to achieve good grades. Here, the students revise limited syllabus to get good marks and ignore the knowledge behind theoretical concepts. In India students’ study 12 hours a day to take admission in IIT or IIM and recent study publish in newspaper tells that the students take admission with very high grades have only theoretical knowledge, but they don't have innovative ideas and application-based mind-set. This is the one of major demerit behind competition for high grades.

Furthermore, everywhere the opportunities are limited but the applicants are so many, and parents always wish my child should achieve great job. The student has mental pressure from parents, teachers, friends and society to gain high score. They give importance to high scores and ignore the actual potential hidden in the student. It curtails the knowledge about concepts which is not good for students. Students should have talent to serve best in any field but competition for good grades the talent pass over in race of grades.

Additionally, the cognitive development is very important for the children. At primary level the critical thinking, problem solving, memory, learning and such higher mental process are developed very fast. If student’s attention diverted towards high grades, then he or she has difficulty to develop higher mental processes. Similarly, in adolescent age student are in middle school and this is very crucial time to develop self and to explore the hidden natural abilities and potential, but the competition of high grades suppresses the self-development and students only think about grades. Result of this they will have difficulty to choose career option after high school.

Conclusively, the competition is very healthy if it enhances the knowledge of students and work as positive reinforcement, But the competition for good grades only definitely decline the development of the student. Based on aforementioned reasoning competition for high grades seriously curb the learning of the students.