The concept of individual responsibility is a necessary fiction. Although, society must hold individuals accountable for their own actions, people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Individual behavior gets its form by the action and interaction of several environmental, societal and individual forces which interplay with each other giving the direction to choose. In general, what a person do is equally governed by the society as that of his own intellect, so blaming sole individual for the bad deeds or commending him only during the laudable situation is somehow illogical. I agree to some extent with the prompt given that the people’s behavior is not only governed by his/her own making but still I am not totally non consonant with the opposing view.

First, it can be simply observed in our society only that what we are now and what have we achieved till now is largely governed by the society in which we reside. I still remember my friend, John, who used to live as a slum as he had no house to live, and his behavior was noticeably different than that of other friends in my classroom. All the ignoble actions that he used to perform were not because of his own making or habit but because he was grown up with that only. As soon as they won the lottery they shifted to the colony where we are living in and now he has been totally different, which makes a case for the role of societal and environmental forces for shaping the people’s behavior.

Second, there is no such thing that we can individually acquire; we all have gained the common understanding of the social issues--though the degree of understanding may differ-- and move further according to the rigid plans of the society. But, there are some issues which attack the cherished beliefs like robbery, theft, rape etc. which are skyrocketing nowadays, especially by the actions of some dissolute people who perform these lecherous acts. These issues can be partly considered by the ill-will of the individual and not totally governed by the forces of the societies solely.

There are several issues that occur in our society leading to some great achievement as well as even deleterious effects. In this regard, we should not completely blame the individual as a whole, but it also has some limitations in case of serious heinous crimes which are out of the normative lifestyle that build upon the deeds of the individual making. Nevertheless, in most of the cases, as society is responsible for shaping the behavior of the individual, society should take a responsibility for the act of the individual members, not only blaming solely on the individual.