“Critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.”Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting y

Critical judgment works as an impetus in the creation and development of quality work. No man are subject to create a masterpiece in his first attempt. Appropriate judgments are necessary in order to flourish his creation. At first, when we think of the kind of judgment that actually matters may come from experts. It can’t be denied that the judgments that come directly from experts are valuable. At the same time, anyone who is not an expert in that particular field may also help to feed valuable judgments from his perspective of the subject matter. Considering this, I cannot completely agree with the given statement. Anyone who can present both positive and negative aspects of view should be equally considered no matter if he is an expert or not.

When it comes to critical judgment, people usually assume that only an expert can identify the hole in the subject matter. Only he has a better understanding and therefore can provide important feedback. However, this is not the only case. Let us consider a science fiction movie called interstellar, for instance. This movie is completely based on the concept of time and space, black hole and space travel which is completely obscure to common people like myself and might be, as well, to the movie directors, producers, animation creators, movie characters, etc. If the movie producers have produced the movie based on their expertise, the movie might have been ordinary to entice. But the movie has presented the concept and visual effects so enticingly that people with little or no scientific curiosity reach to the movie theater. Had they not consulted with the scientist who are non-expert in movie industry, this movie would have been a complete flop.

Secondly, the opinions of the experts and non-experts on the same subject matter might vary. In the development projects I have worked, there always used to be a conflict of interest between two government agencies. Both of them would think, oneself an expert and without consulting one another, they would go forward with their project. Therefore, projects worth of millions would be wasted away. Had there been consensus between these two authorities from the begining, those projects would have earned them profit. Therefore, it is important to validate the judgments from all sides.

However, there are some fields where the critical judgments from experts in the same field are substantial ​​like science. Science is a recondite subject; data and theories are too hard to interpret by common people. In this case, someone who is working in the particular can only make substantial critical judgments. Since science is itself a broad field, even within this, an expert in one field can also provide his judgments to another field. For example, a biologist can interpret and present his views regarding life on astronomical units.

Expertism is important for better judgment of the work. It will lead to betterment of the creation. But at the same time, critical judgment from someone who is non-expert or someone who will be directly influenced by that work will also help to enhance the quality of work. Though there are some field in science where it cannot always be true but for this, someone whose works depend on the same principle can always help each other.