Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Information is the new gem in democracy. In a democracy, depriving people of their right is equivalent to committing a crime: people have every right to access information as much as they have other basic rights to live. Suggesting that it is necessary for political leaders to withhold information from the public, is a violation of the right to information of that particular nation’s citizen. As a result, it can stir confusion and create indecisiveness in democracy.

Though political leaders are considered well informed, intelligent and often are representative of the people, their decisions and manoeuvers are not always compelling. The people should be made aware of every activity, agreements, and threats that the country is dealing with so that the leaders could be criticized for their actions when needed. Moreover, hiding information opens the door to corruption. In trade and agreements, political leaders can favor a fortune for themselves if the information on whereabouts of trade and agreements are not disclosed. If the transparency of the annual budget and expenditure is not maintained, the people might stop paying their tax, donors might stop funding the country - a major contribution to the annual budget.

Having said that information should not be withheld, however, sometimes, in critical circumstances, it would be prudent to prevent a crisis, conflicts or war in the country or with another country that certain information should not be disclosed immediately. Nonetheless, the information should be disclosed later after making sure of no negative impacts on its people. For example, recently, a country has faced an internal conflict between its two religious groups. One of the group attempted homicide on another group during their holy celebration, which saw the death of more than 300 people. The victimized group sought retaliation through incendiarism and bloodshed; burning shops and houses of innocent people of the attacking group. Had the government revealed the culprit after taking certain actions that would have made sure of no tension between those two groups, those incendiarisms and bloodshed could have been prevented.

Access to information is needed and must be made available to every citizen in a democracy. The information is consumed and analyzed before taking important decisions in the future. The information helps in maintaining harmony in the country. Regardless of this, sometimes, some information could be used to create chaos among its people. At that time, a deliberate decision should be taken so as to prevent war, disharmony in the people. Nonetheless, it should be made sure information is accessible to the people at the right time.