The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company proposes that they should increase the budget in advertising movies shown at Super Screen to reach out to the public in the next year. He envisions this strategy since the people attending Super Screen produced movies are declining though the percentage of positive movie reviews about specific Super Screen movies have increased in the past year. This clearly has happened due to lack of awareness in people regarding the production of good movies by the company. The Speculations made by the director could be plausible, however, there are certain questions that need to be answered before jumping into the conclusion.

First of all, the question whether people attending the movies produced by other movie companies have decreased or increased or have remained steady is needed to be answered. If the people attending other movies are steady and decreasing in super screen produced movies, then it is open to various possibilities like people actually are not liking the Super screen movies or these movies are not reaching out to its audiences. On the other hand, if people attending are decreasing in other movies as well, then it can be assumed that it is actually the people who are not disinterested in movies. Therefore, in the first case scenario the increasing budget share in advertising would be of little help, however, it would help substantially in the first case scenario.

Secondly, is it can be generalized from the increased percentage of good specific super screen movies that all of their movies are good? The director mentions about the specific movies only, but what if other movies are not comparable? As well as, what percentage of movies have got good reviews? It affects significantly of only 10 percent of the movies are getting good reviews. Because of 90% of the movies, people would miss if there are good movies assuming these movies are not usually good. However, if the condition is altered ( 10% bad movies, 90% good movies), this strategy of increasing budget share might help significantly.

Therefore, the statement issued by director on the basis of the above mentioned evidence are flawed. More evidence is required to evaluate; such as a thorough research of the movies and their audience in the market, introspection of number of quality movies produced by the companies itself and its competitors, etc. There are factors as well regarding number of movies produced by the company every year, the number of people attending every year and the correlation between type of movie and number of people that will provide help in evaluating conclusion.