The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movie Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for your special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memorandum, the owner of Movie Galore - a chain of video rental stores - proposed a change in operating hours of the Galore stores in order to reverse the recent decline in profits. He/she mentions since they are famous for their special bargains, an increase in rental prices would not add much profit, however, cutting operating expenses of the store would possibly increase their profit margin - this assumption has been bolstered by example of one of their rental store in downtown which has changed its closing hours from 6 pm to 9 pm and reducing stocks of movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, the owner proposes to copy the changes in that store in all the ten stores in order to increase his/her profit. In calculating profit for the store, the owner has unconsciously forgotten to consider other different ways to increase their profit margin rather than decreasing operating costs, and the factors that might get affected. In doing so, this change might also affect the overall transactions of the stores.

The owner has presumed that a decrease in operating expense has increased the profit of the store. The presumption is referenced only from one store in downtown though the actual increase in its profit has not been mentioned. Generally, a decrease in operating expense does not imply an increase in profit - the main motive of implementing changes is to increase profit. Instead, it might affect the total sells. The change in closing hours has surely cut off the operating expense, but it is also important to research on the decline in total sells of the store that can strongly back up the owner’s decision. It is possible that the store had minimum sells at those hours, meanwhile, this case does not apply to the other nine stores as well. Few stores might have the maximum sell at around those hours; closing at those hours could possibly result in loss. Therefore, it would be prudent that the owner has a meticulous study of each of his store of the hours of the day which has minimum sells so that operating expense could be minimized by closing stores at those hours.

The owner seems intimidated by the fact of a decrease in their profit. So he/she, instead of identifying the reasons behind a decrease in profit, seek an easy way out: decreasing operating cost. Actually, he/she should invest some time in exploring the cause behind the decrease in profit: the reason could be another competing store in the market, technology like the internet that makes video availability easy, etc. If there is another store, the owner could implement a different policy like decrease in the rental price, increasing varieties of movies that can attract more customers. If it is the internet, the owner can also adopt this new technology and start providing online services to its customers.

From the memorandum, it is clearly seen that the owner has been thoughtless in deciding the best option for his/her stores. Deciding closing hours for all stores based on the result of the single store seems imprudent. Predicting an increase in profit by decreasing the operating cost of the stores is not advisable. In fact, the owner should research the cause behind the decrease in profit. In that way, he can make a decision that will not only decrease their operating cost but also increase their profit margin.