The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movie Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for your special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is clearly stating that the movies Galore rental store has reduced its operation cost in one of its stores which is in downtown Marston.but there is no enough information provided that the operational cost of all the stores is going to be reduced.This strategy might be useful for only particular area but not for all areas where the store is present.

The evidence required to change in strategy for the whole chain of movies can not only be depend on one outcome.if there are very few people who would rent and watch movies after 6pm in the region of Marston then the rental store would have a less operational cost but if in some other regions where people are only renting between 6pm and 9pm only then the store would get into more loses.We cant totally accept the evidence provided.

there might other factors which might reduce the operational cost in the store which the stratergy might be tested.For example the store present in marston had less rent to be paid for the building and there other stores might have a higher rent to pay then the operational cost of that particular store might higher compared to the store in marston.there is no proper evidence stating that the only factor of reducing operational cost is by changing the closing time from 9pm to 6pm.

By reducing the inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago might be effective only where people are ready to watch only new and 5 year ago movies but if there is a store present in a place where there are more number of senior citizens,they would most likely to rent a older movie which might be older then 5 years old.then the store might lose its sales also and get into loses.Hence the author doe not provide required information to support this argument.

The proper strategies to increase profits would be that the stores in each region takes a survey about the requirements of there customers and according decide the steps to be taken and which might not mislead the whole chain into having the same strategy for whole chain.