The desire of corporations to maximize profits contends with general welfare of the nation.

Every corporation that exists in the world today, survives and evolves on profit. The margin is what allows them to stay afloat, innovate and invest in new products and researches. Hence the tendency of corporations to aim at optimizing their profits is natural and salubrious to the sustainment of business. What determines the impact of this behavior is the means used to achieve maximum profits. The desire to maximize profits can only contend with general welfare of the nation if the means used are harmful to the society or environment, which is not always the case. Hence I do not fully concur with the statement.

The business world of the 21st century thrives on competition. This competition is seeded by the incentive to maximize margins and drives companies to innovation and optimization. Many new pieces of research are funded by companies, huge incentives are offered to individuals who can find solutions to the problems hindering their profit-making. Though these investments may sometimes be targeted to specific problems, there have been cases when such researches have resulted in major breakthroughs in some fields. Many researches and innovations today can be attributed to the investments from profit-driven industries.

Whether it is the automobile industry or the pharmaceutical industry, each one has reaped the benefits of being profit-driven and has in turn made life better for people. As long as all this is done ethically and within the purview of law, it leads to the advancement of society and promotes the welfare of the people.

Although almost every industry has benefited from the profit-driven approach, the pharma industry has been at the pinnacle of these. It has boomed into a huge industry through a cycle of profits which drives their researches and the results of their researches which in turn drive their profits. Some of the big pharma companies now have their own labs for research and hire scientists to solve their problems and innovate. Had there been no profit-driven industry, companies would have no incentive to fund researches and would be at the mercy of the scientific community to come up with innovative products and solutions which may not always be directed towards their industry. This would not only hamper the growth of the companies, but it would also hinder new advances in science and technology. The profit-driven industry creates a culture of directed innovation and hence benefits from it.

It is true that not all companies may be willing to play by the rules. There are companies that operate on rampant exploitation of resources to drive in profits. They violate the environmental laws, disregard corporate social responsibility and leave a huge carbon footprint. A lot of the environmental problems that exist today can be attributed to these companies, which ran unhindered and unchecked for so long. But it is not their profit-driven nature that is at fault here, but the lack of incentive to operate in the right direction. With proper enforcement of environmental laws and penalties for violation, these practices can be mitigated.

There should be a proper mechanism to conduct regular checks and audits to monitor misconduct on the part of corporations. Companies that are found to be flouting norms should be heavily penalized. New policies must be implemented that incentivize companies to invest in the right direction. Social responsibility should not just be a duty but a mandatory law so that the welfare of the people is no longer just an option while driving in profits but a mandatory requirement.

Hence, the urge to maximize profits does not have to come at the cost of the general welfare. With the right laws and regulations, they can go hand in hand.