Must art be widely understood to have merit?

A work of art is something that inspires imagination in any human being and caters to the aesthetic requirements of the person. The author's assertion that art must be understood in order to be appreciated though true from a point of view, is not entirely correct.

To understand art, one must first delve into the question as to what constitutes it. Art can be a dance form, a musical piece, a painting or sketch, a sculpture or anything that catches the viewer's attention and charges up the imagination. It is highly unlikely that every person has an understanding of each art-form and appreciates it only because of that merit.

Some art pieces catch the viewer's attention more than the others, whether they are art connoisseurs or just laymen. For instance, Mona Lisa by Leonardo Da Vinci, a widely recognized piece of art, is appreciated not only by the art critics but by the masses as well. She is said to inspire different emotions in different people. This is possible only because the art is so expressive in and itself that it derives merit regardless of whether it is understood or not.

Different people derive different meaning out of an art work based on what they see and based on how their brain interprets the stimulus. This interpretation is influenced by a person's psyche and his past experiences. Hence, it's not necessary that two different people derive the same meaning from an artwork. Therefore, meriting an art work based on people's understanding can be inaccurate.

It is true that a good work of art is truly appreciated by critics and masses alike. A critic understands the technique involved and can analyze the painter’s intention behind the piece and how successful he was in expressing what he intended. In case of a painting brushstrokes, lighting and hand pressure are some of the factors used in determining the merit of the piece. But ultimately, all these factors and techniques contribute to improving the aesthetic appeal and in inspiring the viewer. Hence, the art will merit the same amount of appreciation from a layman as well.

Therefore, a good work of art will derive merit based on its aesthetic appeal. The technique and forms of expressions involved are only a means to improve this appeal. Whether the art work is understood or not is peripheral to the aesthetic appeal. The understanding caters to the logical part of the brain and has little role to play in contributing to the aesthetic appeal and in turn, in deriving merit.