Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

A controversial topic is a sparky discussion to get involved into, regardless of the fact that, is the discussion with an elite or with someone who is open to ideas and interpretations of other people, or with someone who is adamant and unyielding and dogmatic about his core beliefs, either way, it will leave you stranded.

Having a debate or a discussion with someone over a controversial topic is a job for a daredevil, especially when the person with whom you are going to have this debate is one with contrasting views than yours, because he will try to bring you down in any possible way and most people in debate with contrasting thoughts and beliefs tend to suppress the other person's beliefs with their own.

A very rudimentary example of this is if you start a discussion with a person over which political party should lead the country or which political party is well suited for the economic growth or cultural growth of the country. If the person has conflicting or contradicting views than you or favors a different political party than you, you need to know one thing that you have just triggered a quarrelsome debate. It can also be seen in the parliament assembly where contradicting minds of all elites turn to rip off each other in every possible manner.

Such a debate with an adamant person, over his core beliefs, leads to no conclusion and certain minutes down the discussion you would yourself realize that this is not something fruitful or definitely not something you expected of a discussion. A discussion where your thoughts and views are not at all acknowledged and the other person is treating you condescendingly. So one should always stay away from getting into discussions with such adamant people who don't have any bend towards the acknowledgment of something better apart from what they believe.

Another reason for these people to have such kind of non-compromising attitude can also be because it is a way how their minds have been nurtured and how their mind has been shaped over the course of their life. Which is the most major and impactful factor in shaping one's mindset, be it their education, their companionship, or their personal life experiences. Such people with such mindsets cannot be changed. For example, if you get into a religious debate with someone and he has different beliefs or if he is an atheist, you could go into a never-ending debate which would exhaust you mentally and drain out all of your energy and still not come to any conclusion and the other person would still not be ready to acknowledge anything you say.

All the examples of such instances can be seen on new channels where people supporting different sides of an issue or beliefs get into a debate and how it eventually turns into a heated argument, and no one would even believe that they are elites.

But this may not always happen, sometimes there can be learnings and it can also happen in this same way. You can get to know a lot about their beliefs and their thoughts, also why that is their mind thinks or works this way and they have such beliefs. And if you happen to get into an interaction with someone who even after being questioned about his core beliefs is able to keep his calm and have a fruitful discussion. A lot of positive conclusions can be made out of such discussions.

But the probability of having such an interaction with someone who despite having contradicting views about his core beliefs would be open to changing his mind is very rare.