Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

Modern agriculture method like pesticides or chemical fertilizers are widely used in all over the world, which can bring some negative impact on the environment. However, some people believe that it is important to provide the food for the growing population, so they do not need to care about the negative effects on the environment. As for me, I cannot agree with this statement.

Admittedly, the growing population around the world is the serious problems in 21st century, but will it be the reason for us to destroy the environment?

Most importantly, mismanagement and waste of the foods is a more serious problem than the lack of agricultural areas to produce foods. In China, we can always hear the news about some over-producing agricultural products like bananas in last year. The bananas cannot be sold to the market, even with the pretty low price, because those agricultural products oversupplied for the needs in the local market, and it cannot be kept for a long time or transferred to long-distanced place. Most of those bananas can only be left and start decaying in the farm or the waste yard. It wasted so many foods which can provide a meal for several thousand families in Africa. The main reason of over-producing is without enough managements or regulations in the marketing, and rising price arouse the interests of the farmers to plant more banana trees, which leads to the oversupply of the bananas in the market. From banana's event, we can learn that to develop the managing ability and to reduce the waste of the foods can be an assess to ensure enough food for the increasing population.

Additionally, the better environment can improve the production and quality of the food in agricultural industries. Using some pesticides or chemical fertilizers will cause the polluted water or soil, which can lead that the foods produced by the polluted areas may do a harm on the public health and the polluted areas are not available for growing some agricultural products. Less and less areas for the agricultural industries and harmful foods produced by the polluted areas will exacerbate the problems with no enough foods for the growing population, which could be the vicious cycles.

Simply put, the growing population around the world could not be the reason for us to destroy the environment, but the reason for us to protect the environment for ensuring high-production and high-quality of the food in agricultural industries.