TPO-15 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

What is meaning of being financially responsible? That is a complex problem, but its core is a simple truth : living in on your own means without anyone help. Therefore, numerous efforts to achieve this rule, like making a spending plan in each month and so on. As a consequence, the interesting issue about whether children should learn to manage money in order to become a financially responsible person in the future is on the air. As far as I am concerned, managing money at young age brings more benefits than drawbacks.

Most importantly, to manage their own money at young age may help children to realize the meaning and value of money, in order to cultivate better spending habits. In China, most children could receive their pocket money or red bag in spring festival, even in their birthday. However, many parents just like my aunt will deposit the money for children schooling rather than give any opportunity to children of managing their own money. Therefore, some kids like my cousin do not know how to manage the money. Every time he can get some money like for breakfast, he will spend all the money on buying some little toys or snack. After this process happens from time to time, my cousin may not cultivate a proper spending habit, like depositing for certain purpose or making a spending plan, when he will be adult in one day.

Additionally, self-management skill is also a reason. some parents worry about the children may have a terrible command of money management, but if they do not let their hands off, children may miss the chance to practice self-controlling skill. Just like my cousin, because of all his money spent on little toys or snack rather than breakfast, my aunt decided to buy him a breakfast every day. Thus, my cousin has a fewer opportunity to spend money in his daily time. As a result, my aunt behavior did not treat the cause and thus my cousin's self-management problem does not get a radical solution to deal with. However, self-controlling skill plays an irreplaceable roles in children study and their further career development.

All in all, it is safe to conclude that children should learn to manage their money at young age.