TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People always love to share their own opinion to others and then hope others to support their view. Thus, the interesting discussion about whether teachers should make their statement known to the student in the class is on the air. As far as I am concerned, make the subjective statement may bring more cons than pros.

Most importantly, avoiding the subjective social or political opinions can help teachers to deliver a lesson in a more objective way. It is widely-known that the subjective opinion from the individual cannot always maintain an objective view of the issue, because the individual, even the teacher, may ignore some fact he has never known before or did not want to know. In another word, the subjective opinion always represents one side of the whole issue. For example, Last time we got a visit in the Taiwan primary school, we had heard a lot about the misunderstand of the mainland China in the class. The teacher in the class, who dislikes the culture of the mainland China, use a ridiculous example that most people in the mainland China cannot afford to the frozen dumpling to illustrate the poverty of China. Therefore, avoiding the subjective opinion, even some ridiculous opinions, can be a best way to educate the student.

Additionally, lack of critical thinking and first-hand experience in students may serve as a reason for teachers not to make subjective social or political opinions. Just like the school we mentioned before, it were surprising that those students in the class just believed what their teacher said in the class without any critical thinking. After the class, some students even went to us and asked whether we can always get full in the mainland China. It is unbelievable that those students could ask such a stupid and old-fashion question even though they could find an answer easily from the internet or social media. What a terrible lesson experience with those teachers who always make their own subjective and even ridiculous view in the class is!

Admittedly, some social or political opinions from the teachers could be so unique that students can learn a lot from it, but the students' critical thinking on an issue or learning the knowledge in a more objective way could be more important. Therefore, instead of bringing up subjective social or political opinions, teachers should lead the students to develop their own opinions in a comprehensive and objective way with critical thinking.

All in all, it is safe to conclude that not to make the subjective social or political opinions in the class would be better.