The Drawbacks To The Use Of Nuclear Power Mean That It Is Not A Long Lasting Solution To The Problem Of Meeting Ever-increasing Energy Needs

Recently, there is an increase of interest of using nuclear power as an alternative source of energy for the increasing energy needs since it possesses high number of output and efficiency compared to the other alternative methods. However, while it seems to be beneficial for fulfilling the energy needs for humanity, it may actually bring more negative drawbacks compared to the other alternatives.

First of all, radioactive substances as the main components of nuclear power, are inevitably expensive. Compared to the other energy alternatives such as wind power and water power, it is obviously evident that both of them are much cheaper source compared to nuclear power. That is the reason why many developed countries are not really interested in developing nuclear power as their main source of energy. One of the example is Denmark, which has successfully implemented the use of wind power as their main source of energy for the whole country. Their main reason why they use the wind power is not only wind power is cheap, but also wind power also does not emit detrimental waste. Therefore, even though it is known that nuclear power is environmental-friendly, it is not economic-friendly at all.

Second reason, establishing and running nuclear power plant definitely have a lot of risks. Radioactive substances are very harmful to the health, and therefore, scrutinized measures are needed to be undertaken for the standard operation process throughout the whole process. Such strict control not only bring up the cost for the security maintenance, but also it implies that if something goes wrong, even though the probability is 1% or below, there will be a huge disaster. For instance, several years ago there was a huge nuclear incident in Fukushima, Japan, where thousands of lives taken because of the explosion of Fukushima nuclear power plant. Furthermore, the aftermath effect is not something that can go away in short term. Even until now, radioactive substances are still present throughout the exploded area, and such place become highly dangerous for people. That disaster happened in Japan, where the control process is extremely marvelous, then you can imagine, what can be happened in the places where the control measures are not as strict as there? We know that in three decades back ago, there was a similar disaster in Ukraine, exactly in Chernobyl, which was far worse. Until now, Chernobyl is a ghost town which still have radioactive materials everywhere. Hence, the high risk of nuclear power makes it the last choice for the alternative energy for now.

It is previously known that nuclear power is environmentally friendly and be able to provide a huge amount of energy compared to other alternative method of the energy source. Therefore, it is theoretically possible to provide a long-term solution for the increasing energy needs with environmental-friendly output. However, the high cost and the risk of such which will be put in burden for the people might make government and investors think twice before building one. Since it is not cheap, people may need to pay more for their electricity, and the environmental risk will give much more loss compared to the other alternatives.