The problem of poor teacher performance that has plagued the state public school system is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige state teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified.

The argument states how the poor performance of teachers in public school underlies in the lack of several educational aspects in their training, and therefore, improving credits and psychological education will improve their performance. However, the author assumption has insufficient points to support how such strategy in improving their performance.

First of all, the author argument of poor performance is not specific. What kind of poor performance which classify a teacher to be a poor-performing one is not clearly stated. For instance, if their performance is measured from the average grade of their students, even a well-performed teacher can still be qualified as poor-performing if his/her students have poor performance. Therefore, in this case, such performance-measuring factor is insufficient to measure a teacher performance.

Second, the author assumes the increasing credits of teacher educational training will improve their performance. However, this argument fallacy is that, the author implies all of teacher training institutes are equally poor-performing. This is obviously untrue in fact. It is evident some institutions have higher standard than others, and it is unclear whether the author implies all of such institutions require to raise their standards, or low-standard institutions should match the standards of the high-standard institutions. If the teachers qualified as poor-performing ones are caused from their lack ability of handling the students, even they may have increased knowledge from such training, such strategy will be useless.

Thirdly, the author implies that the teacher education institutes lacks of psychological education. It is unclear what kind of psychological education is required to improve, since the author statement of “poor performance” is too general. Furthermore, the author assumes that all of poor performing teachers have psychological issues. This may be false in some cases in fact, for instance, some teachers may excel in handling students, which may lead them to be classified as high psychological values, however, they may have poor delivery of materials and lack of knowledge, which may lead them to be classified to be poor-performance.

In summary, even it is true that improving educational standards and psychological ability of the teachers may improve the quality of teachers, the author fails to describe what kind of poor performance he/she want to improve, and the specific strategy needed to tackle such issue. Therefore, the argument of improving credits and educational psychology in higher education institutes for teachers may not be beneficial for improving poor-performing teachers at all. If the problem for the poor performance underlies in the students, such strategy will not be beneficial at all. Even though the problem underlies in the teacher performance or psychological aspects, specific approach to tackle the problem is needed to tackle individual needs of their weaknesses.