Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

One of the responsibilities that educational institutions have is to make sure the student’s success in various ways. However, I wouldn’t agree with the claim that educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Because the definition for success varies to different people, at the same time, the fact that there isn’t any field of study staying at the top of most needed jobs or easily being successful jobs ranks. Educational institutions are also less likely have the capabilities to help students to make the right choice about fields of study.

Education plays a vital role in the nation’s development. we should utilize the limited educational resource economically since there is no country can unlimitedly provide financial support to your educational sector, no matter how important role it may play in the development of a nation. If the underlying reasoning for the claim that educational institutions have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed is to the extent of high proficiently using the limited resource for education, I would not object the well-intended base for the claim. However, it lends no weight in persuading me to agree with the claim. In addition, there is no evidence by doing this is good for the students and the nation as a whole in the long run.

Success, a very subjective word, is never clearly defined by the speaker. The success pursued by one could mean nothing to another person. One is likely to think having a condo and Porsche is what success means, but to others, it perhaps means a happy family with just a house at the suburb. Certainly, our society has a general definition to success. Being successful is to be highly rewarded in a financial way, as well as in socioeconomic status by doing what they do. However, our society is constantly changing, there isn’t any career can keep you being successful for your lifetime. Especially in recent decades, the changes of highly rewarded profession have been changing so vastly and broadly. 20 years ago, being a lawyer of any kind makes you successful, it’s not the case at the era of technological innovation. Nevertheless, we should realize that there are some careers that may seem unpromising at the time but turns out to be too advanced to be comprehend by their people. Take Copernicus Galileo as examples, their advanced theories, treated as heterodox at their lifetime, became the inspiration and was spread broadly by scientists in the later generations. Therefore, there isn’t any path you take will guarantee success.

Even though we are able to assume a situation that we can predict possibility of a success of one major in a student’s lifetime, there is still a decisive part that need to be discussed before any reckless suggestion. That is who will have the capability to decide if students are making the right major choices or by which standard do educators access the qualification of a student to a certain major. You probably think psychologist with a standard personality test would be a better fit. But the reality is that people that are successful at their career have vastly different personalities. There isn’t any perfect personality for any career choices, in fact, being successful in a certain career have less to do with personality, but more with one’s passion for it. So, it’s not quite possibly that educational institutions would have the capability to decide for the students about their fields of study.

In sum. It totally lacks evidence to say that educational institutions could decide for the students about their fields of study. Unless the speaker could provide me the information about how and who to decide that if students are suitable for the fields of study they choose, and more accurate assessment about the possible future for all the fields of study a student could choose, I would hold my spurious attitude towards the statement to the end.