Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Leader is a person chosen from and by the people to represent their voices. An effective leader, in my opinion, should listen to public opinion, and adopt the their people’s opinion, which sometimes means to abandon some principles that is no longer beneficial to most people. Knowing when and how to compromise is a vital skill for an effective leader to master. At the same time, to know exactly what majority’s opinions are, and further to choose from what to comprise and persist seem vastly mattering to judge the effectiveness of a leader.

Admittedly, persistence is a good quality even for a regular citizen, let alone for a political leader. Being able to consistently committed to particular principles and objectives are necessary to an effective leader. Nevertheless, an important question is who gets to decide what principles and objectives can be defined as particular and are thus meant to last longer. Now, things get less nebulous. It’s unlikely anyone would argue that political leader should decide what to compromise or to persist. Naturally, it depends on the people, instead of a political leader alone, to made a decision about principles and objectives for the sake of majority people. After all, a leader is a representative of their people.

There are barely any principles and objectives persist throughout a nation’s history. Because of the constant changing within society, changes among people’s needs, perspectives, etc., it’s readily to predict the happening of people calling on abandoning some of outdated, or even wrong principles. To be exact, some principles, which we regarded as appropriate long time ago, grew to be cruel and inhumane to the people at the time. Looking at the development of any nation, one takes no efforts to find adequate evidence to substantiate it. Examples like, American slavery system, and the gay marriages stands for not only the improvement of humanity, but also the compromises made by an effective leader to fit for the need for the benefits of majority.

Knowing the necessity of adapting to the needs of the people is not destination of the path to be an effective leader. An effective leader require an access to know what the majority’s need is. Very often, a political leader is ignorant to what people want, for sometimes the leader is shield in a bubble created by a few people who are supposed to inform the leader the right information about the needs of majority for their own benefits . If it is the case, not long after, the administration of the leader would be overthrew by their people. In Ming Dynasty of China, the emperor listening to a group of people who have no interests in serving their people indicated the end his governance.

An effective leader is to represent and serve their people. Certain compromise for the benefits of the majority plays a critical role in keeping the political system healthy, otherwise, the majority have plenty ways-often are related to violence- to satisfy their needs. What’s more, an effective leader needs to make sure the right system existed to allow the easiness of public opinion from the people to the leader.