Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss to what extent you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The responsibility of educational institutions is to equip students with critical thinking, ways of solving problems and the knowledge needed in a field. Schools or educators are not responsible for predicting if they will succeed in certain fields and shunning them from assumed failure. I disagree with the claim.

Very often, students choose a field for some particular reasons. Some students choose a field because of their interest. Some students choose a field because of their family background, say, their family business needs them to have knowledge of a certain field. These reasons are often the motivations which have a substantial impact on the achievement of students. Some students may be perceived lacking talent in a field; still, motived by their interest or objectives, they may put in a lot of efforts and hard work. As a result, they may surprisingly succeed in the field. Educational institutions therefore should not opinionatedly dissuade students from a field that they chose based on their own reasons.

Moreover, educational professionals may have a different understanding of “success.” They may define some particular achievements as successful, say, students in the education field to become professors. However, a student who majors in education maybe just want to teach kids and happy with that from the heart. In this case, if educators insist on persuading the students to change the field because he/she will unlikely become a professor. One sad outcome could be that this student would neither succeed in the new field nor happy in life. Hence, schools should not easily manipulate any student based on their subjective expectation and judgement.

One may argue that students may make wrong choices. Some students may later realize that they have chosen the wrong field and wish someone have told him. They have spent a great deal of money, time, and effort in a field; nevertheless, they are failures in the end. Unfortunately, this issue happens. However, the educational institutions cannot solve the problem by suggesting them to change the fields of study. There is no evidence for educators to precisely predict the future of a student. Students are very often judged by their performance at school. Yet, this is far from enough. Van Gogh had more than two thousand works though he only sold two of them in his lifetime. If schools had been responsible for the choice of students’ field of study, based on his performance, arcane past-impressionism style, he would definitely be convinced to stop painting. We would have lost a legacy. As we can see, school performance is not reliable, and schools are by no means able to anticipate the future of a student. Hence, educational institutions cannot help with the failure of a student result of choosing the wrong field of study.

In conclusion, educational experts do know more information in a field than students. They should well inform students the objective facts, such as their school performance, the trend of a field, and the like. Considering the subjective nature of judging one’s future, schools cannot predict certainly if a student will fail or succeed in a field. They therefore should not convince students to change fields of study based on what they think.