Educator should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

An education curriculum is designed for students to achieve certain goals that the educators expect from student after completing the education or graduation. In the nowadays society where we live, there are many career paths that student can choose after graduation and many of them require skills that orthodox curriculums do not afford. Thus, involving students in designing curriculum seems a good idea for two reasons.

Generation living nowadays has found many ways of contributing to the society that our parents would not have thought thanks to the internet. One example of that would be the rise of Youtuber as a profession. One decade ago, people would think of making video and posting it on Youtube as a source of income as inconceivable. Yet, many people nowadays make millions of dollar as content creators on Youtube. The skills set that Youtube content creators need is different from the skills set that what people perceive as normal professions. Many of skills are not taught in old school curriculum such as the ability to read the trend in our society, the ability to promote products, the ability to think outside the box and many more. Thus, finding out what students want is probably a good idea since most of them are usually more literate about what is going on nowadays and applying it to the curriculum will be helpful for them to anticipate the society where they will live in the future.

Moreover, the rigid curriculums that we have in most schools nowadays start to lose its relevance. The number of people who consider school is the most important factor in determining their career decreases slightly every year. With the availability of the Internet, people can almost learn everything on their own. They can easily search any tutorial videos or websites that provide skills they want to learn. For example, there are many cases where companies hire software engineers who do not have any educational background in computer science or engineering. They attained their skills simply by watching tutorial videos. Unless the educators in school listen to their students what they want to learn and give them what they need, it will be unsurprising in the future that people will stop going to formal schools and choose to learn everything by themselves with only one computer in their bedroom.

However, while finding out what students want is important, educators shouldn't offer it just because students want it. What students want is not always necessarily what they need. Without proper and thorough evaluation, including subjects into a curriculum only because students want it will result in incoherence and confusing curriculum. For such reasons explained above, we can conclude that offering what students want in the curriculum with proper evaluation can be proved useful for the students.