Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

The problem of global warming has been circulating in our society for decades. While the evidences of global warming happening are crystal-clear, finding the solutions is a nontrivial problem. One factor that played a major role in this phenomenon is carbon dioxide emission from industry. Some people argue that saving energy as much as possible will help decreasing the demand of energy, thus reducing carbon emission. Others maintain that reducing energy consumption in individual scale will only have small impact. The assumption of the latter may be true, but the argument does not consider the indirect implication of doing so in the holistic picture.

Lifestyle that emphasizes minimum consumption of energy will decrease the demand of energy without a doubt. However, this approach only works in individual scale, giving inconsequential impact on the whole problem. Energy for personal consumption is only a part of the whole energy industry market. Even though the demand of energy for personal consumption decreases, the demand of energy from big corporations or heavy industry will likely stay the same. Moreover, the population of developed countries in general is way less than thus of developing country where they prioritize their economic development than their carbon emission. We are all aware the fact that some of developed countries such as those in north Europe region successfully sustain their economy with only environmentally friendly source of energy. But, if we consider how much China releases its carbon dioxide to our atmosphere every year, this success seems futile to make any significant effect. Unless there is a massive change in the structure the overall market, such as an invention of affordable and sustainable source of energy or government intervention, this approach will not pan out. For such reason, some people do not champion this approach considering how it does not solve the core of the problem.

However, without doing so, the notion of how dangerous global warming is will not circulate pervasively in our society, and people will become less aware of the consequence. Despite of how obvious the effect of global warming taking place in some part of the world, some people even still stubbornly reject the existence of global warming, saying that it is just a propaganda or a concoction. Claiming such lifestyle does not give any effect on the problem will only exacerbate the situation. With the society becomes less aware, the whole society may eventually fall into the state of benighted, and lose its power to press the authority, our government, to take important measures before the damages caused by global warming turn irreversible. Even if our society today is well literate about global warming, we are still having hard time convincing our government to enact more stringent regulation about carbon emission. Take, for example, the current event when United States withdrew itself from Paris Agreement which it requires every participating country to reduce its carbon emission. This example illustrates how our government is not fully ready yet to tackle the global warming problem seriously. With less force from the society, Government will turn out more sluggishly in addressing this problem.

Currently, there is not a panacea for global warming problem and the problem is a tricky one. While it is true that reducing energy consumption will not do much in soothing the consequence of global warming, it will help propagate the idea of how dangerous global warming is, and make people become aware. Eventually, society in the developing countries will start paying more attention to this problem and prompting an immediate action to their government. For such reason, such lifestyle will definitely be helpful for the longevity of our habitat.