Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

After the ascendancy of capitalism is proven, it is commonplace nowadays to see many big corporations are thriving. While our society oftentimes feels the benefit of the rise of big corporations, such as the advancement of technology, we still have many unresolved issues that need to be addressed. Some people maintain that as big companies gain profit by exploiting the resources that the society has, both human and natural resources, they should also be responsible for the prosperity of the society and the environment that they exploit. While this assumption is ostensibly beneficial, I see two reasons why it might not be a good idea in the long run.

First, we have the problem of economic growth. According to the concept of capitalism, the sole purpose of a company is to gain profit as much as possible. This concept is what drives our economic growth so far. Making companies be responsible for these matters will only jeopardize our economic growth. Companies will not only pursue their own interest but also the overall society interest as well. This will likely hamper the performance of companies and subsequently result in slow economic growth. The best example that represents this case would be state-owned companies in a socialist country. Back then in 1960, where Indonesia was under the regime of Soekarno who aligned himself more with the socialist view, all companies were owned by the state. Since they were all state-owned, the only purpose they had was to provide prosperity to Indonesian citizens. This purpose did not stimulate the companies to innovate and make enough profit. As a result, Indonesia’s economy stagnated, and inflation rose to 600 percent. Majority of Indonesian citizen back then could not even afford a bowl of rice. What this approach achieved was exactly counterintuitive from the very purpose of the approach itself.

Second, this approach can possibly undermine authority. If a company takes care of the well-being of its citizen, it is unsurprising if it gains support from society. A company that has abundant capital resource and support from its citizen will wield huge power. Thus, it can easily propagate propaganda in society to undermine government's power if it deems advantageous for its interests. Take, for example, the case of PT.Freeport, a mining company in Papua island, Indonesia. Papua Island the most eastern major Island in Indonesia. Since it is far-flung from the capital city, its development has been slow compared to other regions. However, it has tremendous natural resources, especially gold and uranium. Among Papuans, the notion that PT.Freeport has done more for their society than the government is well circulated. As a result, local government there almost have little to no power against PT.Freeport if a scandal regarding mining permission rises as the company has support from the citizen. If the sole purpose of the company is only to gain profit, it is unlikely that it will gain such staunch supporters from its citizen. Thus, the government can stand where it is supposed to.

While it is true that if companies keep only pursuing profit and exploiting the environment, our earth could possibly turn out inhabitable in the future. However, we should not make the responsibility of protecting the environment as companies’ responsibilities. Preserving environment can be achieved if the government enacts more stringent laws regarding environmental issues. For example, the government can put sanctions on the companies who exceed the limit of carbon emission or do not manage their waste. With such scenario, the companies will have no distraction for responsibilities other than pursuing their profit as long as they obey laws. This scenario will also preclude the possibility of companies undermining the institution. For such reasons, it is best to pass the responsibility for such matters to the government.