Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them

Students are at a stage where their minds are ready to be molded. They seek answers to questions that may have never been asked before and want to broaden their horizons to capture what they observe around them. With this sort of environment, it would be hardly sensible for educators to have a set curriculum that doesn’t cater towards the needs and wants of the students seeking the information.

Students, both at the high school and collegiate level, experience long hours, exhaustion and stress, but they overcome all of it because the struggle is for a greater purpose: to pursue something they love and something that intrigues them. In order to keep the momentum going, it is crucial that educators are able to provide the students with what they seek: engaging content. Content that the students want to learn and explore in order to make headway in the field that they are interested in. We’ve all had teachers that could harp on about one thing or another while just reading off of their slides, and yet we find that these are not the teachers that leave an impact on their students. It’s the teachers who were able to stimulate an interest in their subject, foment the students to ask for more and generate a previously lacking attraction to the topic.

Inclusion of material that students want in the curriculum also ensures that the students are prepared for the broader applications that they intended to address while signing up for the class. They might have signed up for the design class because they thought the content would make their transition to a job in medical device development slightly easier by preparing them with the background knowledge needed for the task. Ensuring that what the students want out of the class is what they get should be an essential step when designing a curriculum.

It is quite possible that students are not entirely clear on what they want out of a specific class. They might have taken it for no apparently solid reason, thereby rendering the educators attempt at understanding their needs a futile task. In cases like that, having a set curriculum might be viewed as the optimal solution to allow students to at least get exposure to the subject. This, however, limits the flexibility that the students can have with their education and the choices they make.

Taking students’ needs into account when designing a curriculum can provide students with the skills and exposure they seek. It can also engage the students in a learning environment where they feel like their interests are what lie at the core of the curriculum. After all, school isn’t a construct meant to bog students down. Rather, it’s a way to provide students with the expertise and knowledge they need and want.