The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

During a political leader’s career, he/she experiences quite a few obstacles. After all, representing and looking out for a whole community is no simple task and one that requires skill and tact. The ability of political leaders to overcome these obstacles or approach challenges head on requires that they use the skills and abilities that they have developed. The challenge may be a small one but how they approach it contributes more to their greatness in the community, rather than the challenge itself.

At the time that America won the war against the British to gain their freedom, the newly formed nation was in turmoil. The challenge of establishing a government from scratch and writing a Constitution that would have the interest of the country’s citizens at heart was a daunting task and one that was taken by a few individuals. Among these individuals was Alexander Hamilton. As a young orphan from the Caribbean Islands who had ended up on the mainland after boarding a ship for lack of resources on his island, Hamilton was aware of the struggles that existed even to live. It was his prowess as a leader, his strong will to make something of himself, his love for the nation and, his innate desire for change that allowed him to rise through the ranks and eventually become in charge of the Treasury of the United States. Of course, the challenges that came his way were several and of varying degrees but each time what allowed him to overcome these challenges were his inherent qualities and values and that’s what led people to perceive him as a successful political leader.

Another political leader who would be a good example is former President, Barack Obama. Obama’s presidential term was at a time of economic crisis. In addition, several needs of the people, specifically with reference to healthcare, were going unaddressed. By introducing several economic reforms and healthcare reforms, such as Obamacare, all while efficiently and tactfully approaching the House and the Senate, Obama successfully showed the people that the system exists to work for them and presented himself as an effective leader.

Those arguing this stance might say that the challenges themselves can foment leaders to rise to the occasion and eventually be perceived as an accomplished leader. However, I would argue that a lack of inherent skills when approaching these challenges and choosing how to respond to them would most likely tarnish the image of the leader in the eyes of the people as someone who lacked the experience to even respond appropriately to a challenge.

In order to overcome a challenge, it is imperative that a person know how to approach it and how to overcome it, and to complete these tasks effectively a person must have skills that they have developed. In the case of political leaders, who are faced with several challenges and often, their image and their greatness in the eyes of the people lies in their approach to problems as they arise, rather than the magnanimity of the problem itself.