The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores, is determined to increase the profits that the company is generating. He/she intends to do this by lowering operating costs of the stores by reducing the hours that the store remains open in a day. The argument the owner proposes does not have sufficient evidence to back up its effectiveness in achieving his goal.

The memo provides data collected from one of their stores in downtown Marston as evidence supporting their claim that not many customers would complain if the store closed at 6 pm instead of 9 pm. A key assumption that the owner makes in this case when applying data from one store location to all its other locations is that the demographics in all the locations are similar to each other. Suppose Marston consist of a higher percentage of senior citizens who are free to visit the store during the day, but another location has a higher percentage of the working class who cannot make it to the store by 6 pm after a work day. The profit margins calculated with reduced hours for Marston would not hold any validity when applied to the other location. Evidence showing only slight differences in demographics between all 10 locations would strengthen the owner’s argument.

Additionally, movie choices vary depending on the population of the town where the store is located. Movies Galore tried to further reduce expenses by not stocking DVDs that released more than five years ago. In Marston, they found it to be successful in generating more profits. However, the author lacks evidence supporting the claim that this would be successful at other locations as well. At some locations that are in areas with higher percentage of youth that are equipped with services such as Netflix, maybe the only movies they seek at movie stores are those that are old and unavailable on streaming services. In these cases, Movies Galore would be losing out on customers because they did not consider catering the inventory to the population’s demands. Evidence refuting these potential differences in the consumer’s demands at each store location would therefore be valuable and supportive.

Another piece of evidence that is missing is the effectiveness of any other alternatives that the owner might have considered to reduce expenses. Could hiring one less person to man the store or lowering electrical expenses by using more energy-efficient sources or opening late instead of closing early make a difference? An assessment the relative impact of possible alternative to the solution proposed for implementation would go a long way. Once there is evidence suggesting that what the author proposes is the best solution for all locations, he/she would have a stronger claim.

In summary, the author lacks several crucial pieces of evidence when making his/her claim. The solution proposed by the author lacks sufficient conclusive evidence to back up its effectiveness at addressing the aim of lowering operating expenses. The author must consider the suggestions outlined above before making conclusive decisions on the optimal solution for increasing profit margins in the stores.