Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

The quality of any education system is determined by its curriculum. The world is witnessing continuous development in areas of arts, science, economy, literature, which eventually influence the industry. Hence, redressal of the education system should be synonymous to the current advancements. The curriculum should be updated regularly to incorporate the latest research and findings. Prospective students always look through the course curriculum while exploring their options to determine which one would best suit their interests. I believe it is necessary for educators to know the topics students want in their curriculum, after they are taught the essential concepts in their first year. It must be noted that while students’ opinions should be taken into serious consideration, they should be evaluated before being included.

After a foundational year inclusive of basic subjects, students become aware of their strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, engaging the students to design their curriculum will be beneficial. The students will have the chance to evaluate their interests and have a primordial outlook of their career trajectory. This could also allow confused students to realize if they have chosen the right path. Many degrees are now accompanied with a specialization, offering combinational learning. Elective subjects are a good example, students should be asked about their interests and be offered the respective subjects. Mandatory learning of uninteresting subjects could result in the loss of morale and overall interest in the course.

Interactive and enthusiastic students are an indicator of successful teaching. When students learn a subject of their interest, it is reflected in their grades. Incorporating topics after a thorough discussion will give the teachers a clear idea of what knowledge they want to acquire from their course. This will help to redress the curriculum accordingly. This creates a conducive environment where the teachers are content with imparting knowledge to students who are eager to learn. With time, students are opting to conduct their own research based on what they are being taught. Asking them about their expectations from a subject sets a goal for the teacher, who could modify their teaching methods and topics accordingly.

There are limitations to this idea of asking what the students want and then giving it to them. This should be enforced only after the primary concepts have been taught because an overview of all the subjects is obligatory for the students. Students will learn of all the options available to them and also be exposed to newer concepts that could become their area of major. All the students should be encouraged to give their opinions. Ideas from both sides should be discussed and those that are favorable to the outcome should be taken up. Many institutions take course-end surveys, which will not be as useful since their views could be inconsistent with those of the incoming students.

The concept of education is similar to a bargain. Students may get what they like or they may have to learn something they don’t wish to. As aware as they might be, educators have more experience and have a deeper understanding of what is important and what is not. Not everything is rosy about the life we live; we have to perform duties or functions that are necessary despite the lack of interest. Similarly, some subjects that may seem futile could actually serve a greater purpose in later life and career. After all, if students have chosen to be educated by these teachers, they have to place a considerable amount of trust in them.

Many teachers now adopt a no-book approach. They don’t teach from a particular book, rather they give the students the required information and encourage students to conduct their own research. They go through scientific publications or find relevant books on their own. This kind of learning will lead to creative and innovative ideas which could further lead to novel inventions. The future of this planet rests on the shoulders of the youth. They should be given a seat at a table.