The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

The author brings up a controversial issue of whether the effectiveness of leaders is determined on the basis of the living conditions of their adherents enclosed within a country. Indisputably, Leadership is a quality which should be measured on the basis of response and support the leaders get from the public. Nevertheless, this response and support are not at all related to the well-being or living standards of the denizens of the country. Hence, I generally disagree with the opinion author brings up and would argue that it is mostly independent of well-being or living conditions of the citizens of a country.

First of all, there is no relation between the well-being of people proportional to the effective leadership the leaders instigate. To illustrate that, let's study the case of India before their Independence in 1947. Mahatma Gandhi who epitomized non-violence and started the Civil Disobedience movement had most the people following his ideology. These citizens' living conditions were hopeless due to lack of resources,education,poverty and above all dominance from the abhorred british policies due to which they had to live in restrained conditions. Using the ideologies and principles of Mahatma Gandhi India was able to become independent which shows his effective leadership quality. In this case we can clearly say that there is no relation between effectiveness of leadership and well-being of denizens of a country.

Moreover, the leadership quality should be determined on the basis of its positive impact to the people's lives rather than the present living standards of the people. For example, Martin Luther King Jr. through his Civil Disobedience policy was able to end long detested slavery in America which brought up an enormous amount of change in the lives of the black citizens of America compared to previous subjugated living conditions. Thus, leadership should be measured on the positive change made on the living conditions of the people rather than just measuring the current living quality.

On the other hand, leadership in very few cases such as governmental rule, it should be measured on the basis current living standards and consensus among people and such a leadership can be maintained efficiently by striking a proper balance between people's needs which government can fulfill and current living conditions of the people. Still an impressive governmental rule can also be judged on the basis of positive change the government brought to the country for the people.

In conclusion, I would like to like to state that in most of the cases of leadership can be measured on the basis of the positive difference created on the people's daily living standards over time.