Essay In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people. has been updated.

Validity of greatness of a work of art depends on the purpose of creation of the work. If the art work was created to entertain the crowd, yes, it has to be understood by the masses. If the purpose was to exhibit mastery, it need not be understood or acknowledged by the crowd. It should to be appealing to experts in respective fields.

First, let us consider cinemas. Dunkirk, movie by Christopher Nolan received good reviews from critics, but did not succeed in making money beacuse, it was not appealing to masses. Intention of the movie was to exhibit mastery in cinematography in which it succeeded. Since this was not understood by common masses it cannot be considered as a bad movie. The dark Knight, another movie by same director intended to reach masses but, the critic world was harsh on it. Since the intention of the movie was to reach the masses, I would say movie was a success although it did not recevie postive feedbak from critics.

Furthermore, paintings by Ravindra verma, a famous Indian painter, who captured daily life on canvas are appealing to both masses and renowned painters. His paintings are studied studiously in arts classes around the world also, these paintings are admired by common people. Sometimes art work need not be validated by anyone, it can composed to just please the creator himself. Even in this case if creator is satisfied with the outcome, it need not understood by masses or experts in respective fields.

From all the examples discussed above we can conclude art work can be considered a great work if it succeeds in pleasing it's intended audience. Works which are understood by masses tend to be more famous just because of word of mouth. But works acknowledged by critics will have seperate place in the history or will be awarded with highest honours.