The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I partially agree that the best way for a society to prepare it's young people for leadership in government, industry , or other firelds is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. While comeptition sometimes brings out best out of the people, cooperation leads to overall all development of the team, After all modern complex problems, most of the time need group of intellectuals rather than individual geniuses.

First let's consider Manhattan Project, objective of which was to develop nuclear fission bomb which was necessary to end the world war. It was considered to be most complicated problem during that time. Manhattan project constituted group of brilliant minds of the time, instead of competing they worked cooperating with each other to make project successful. Although most of it's success is atttributed to Richard Feynman, who was a genius, without cooperation of other team members it would not have been possible for him alone to complete the project. So great leader is one who strives to bring the team together and focuses on overall development of the team. These qualities have to be instilled among young people when they grow.

Competition doesn't always end up with undesired results. It can be used to select best among the people and this will be motivating factor for people to work hard to get the result they desire. For example, GRE is considered to be most competitive exam where student fight nect to neck to get into top colleges. Competition in this case is necessary. If young people are not taught to compete, they might not be successful in overcoming initial obsctacles to be successful.

To conclude, in order to be leader in any field one has to reach there. The journey to reach the top is full of competition, only the best survives. Once a person reaches that position, it will be his/her duty to bring best out of the team and produce good results, which will be possible, if everyone in the team works as one and cooperate with each other.