Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In large societies and nations, it’s very important for the citizens to perform the responsibility of obeying just laws and to reject unjust laws. This will ensure the smooth and structural running of society towards development and enhancement. For suppose, everybody has the constitutional rights provided by the nation and citizens shouldn’t restrict anybody from performing their rights. In a diverse country like India with multiple religions, when some people restrain from others accessing their right to religion or creed, others should stand up to them and confront them. Only because of the indifference and negligence of others, so many rallies involving public violence are happening in India because of religion. When every individual takes up their responsibility to stop injustice, which may not include their involvement in the act but informing police or the right officials would help reduce the negative impact of such acts.

Even when it comes to traffic rules, the numerous penalties imposed by the government just for the safety of the individuals couldn’t affect the decrease in the number of accidents happening every day. These accidents can be diminished greatly when individuals take the responsibility for theirs’ and others’ lives and follow traffic rules properly.

If people develop this innate feeling of doing the right things and not hurt others abysmally, terrible cases involving molestations, eve-teasing, and even adverse cases like rapes, can be reduced widely. It is not the right of an individual to cause immense harm and pain to another individual in vulnerable situations. For example, a lot of acid attacks happened to women as they rejected some men’s advances on them sexually. If everybody stands up and resist an unjust act happening around them, such people can never gather the courage to make such an attack on women publicly. When individuals present at these acts inform the officials in time, these acts can be taken into control before an extreme loss occurs. This responsibility of resisting unjust laws by reaching out to authorities or confronting it in some cases, if developed in every individual brings a great change to the society at large.

Also, citizens should be responsible for laws enforcing no public littering and damage to the environment. When individuals feel responsible for following such laws, we can maintain a good balance in protecting the environment.

Thus, I agree with the statement saying that individuals should feel responsible to follow just laws and rules imposed by the government for the benefit of everyone and stand up to any injustice happening around them. This way, societies can focus on beneficial ideas and progress towards development.