Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue provides two views of people where one states that corporations should have a responsibility to promote and help the well-being of societies and environments in which they operate. The other is that making the maximum amount of money out of the company should be their only focus and responsibility as long they operate within the laws of the government.

Corporations should take responsibility for the environment and operate without causing major damages to it. Today, a lot of factories' productions involve releasing poisonous gases into the atmosphere and these are detrimental to human survival. These gases are one of the major reasons for global warming which is a deleterious problem across the world. Instead, they can follow any substitutional methods where harmful gases are not the end products or include additional processes that convert the poisonous gases composition to less harmful gases. Some of the corporations release their wastes into rivers which are affecting the health of people relying on those river water. Though there are laws governing the management of wastes and gases released by factories, they cannot encompass all cases possible and many corporates circumvent these restrictions, show false reports and escape from the laws. If corporates innately feel responsible for having proper systems for the release of factory wastes instead of neglecting, many harmful consequences to the environment can be avoided.

If we take the recent Vizag gas leak, for example, many families' health was deteriorated because of the leak and prominently people with breathing problems have faced great difficulty some resulting in their deaths. A lot of citizens around revolted as the company never considered giving employment to the local citizens and always considered taking employees based on recommendations that would benefit the company. This company which was never helpful to the society around has now caused great trouble to the society and environment because of showing negligence in their operations. Though it is a call of the corporates, it would be helpful if they have societal well-being also in mind rather than just their personal benefit.

In any nation, corporations are established for profits which should never be neglected in the decisions and operations of it. These corporations contribute greatly to the economy and determine the nations’ stance at an international level. Only when sufficient profits are produced, there will be scope for more employment and development of the country. But today the whole world is facing problems because of this single focus of corporations and lack of consideration for the environment and society around, thereby resulting in great harm to the environment and humanity.

Hence, although I agree with the idea that profit-making should be a primary focus of corporations, showing irresponsibility and negligence towards any probable damages caused by their corporation shouldn’t be overlooked or ignored. Corporations should try incorporating some methods towards environment friendliness and promote the environment and societal development along with producing profits ensuring the survival of the company and employees working for it.