Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

An argument generally is based on some underlying assumptions, implications from relevant data, and certain cases that challenge the argument. The claim states that the best way to assess an argument is to be able to convince an argument of the opposite viewpoint. The reason for this claim is provided that such a convincing discussion would address all the doubts, question the underlying assumptions, get unbiased conclusions from data, and get logical solutions to the situations that challenge the argument. This would be true when the greater benefit of the audience who gets affected by the conclusion of the argument is in mind in both the minds of the people discussing. A healthy discussion by two people having relevant knowledge on understanding the complexity of the argument and critically analyzing the various angles of an argument can result in a conclusion that is beneficial to the people.

However, this does not hold true if the person with the opposite viewpoint holds great biases and prejudices that are not healthy. For example, an argument involving a right for migratory people as equal as native citizens involves the person to hold no strong-rooted grudges towards that race, let no racial discrimination affect his argument, and use his critical mind only for the benefit of the humans involved. But if this person has biased opinions towards migrators, then it gets very difficult to question his beliefs and prejudices as they could be formed because of former past influences of societies and lives. A person like Hitler with strong biases in his race cannot be enlightened about the importance of humanity and take decisions accordingly. In that case, before the person can be convinced, there are chances of irreparable damage happening to the ones involved.

In an era where Sati practice was followed where women were burnt along with their dead husbands, it took years of persistent efforts of social reformers and a lot of bloodsheds to change the society heads’ minds and thus abolish the practice. Even though the equal rights of women were consistently addressed, it was the notions of women to be inferior to men in the minds of men then that took a lot of time to change. So, it always doesn’t work that an argument’s potential or benefit can be tested only with a counterargument having the opposite view.

Thus as much as I can see the potential in the benefit caused by a counterargument to assess an argument, it cannot hold true in all the situations. There are several factors attributing to the people involved that can influence the success of a convincing proposal.