The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states that instilling a sense of cooperation, rather than competition is the best way to prepare a society’s young people for leadership in government, industry, and other fields. All these areas mentioned demand leaders who are co-operative with their peers, easily approachable, and capable of meeting challenges involved by working in coordination with many people. Today, this lack of co-operation in between leaders of different bodies, raising from their egoistic and self-centered minds, and lack of regard for others’ views and opinions, is costing a lot for the bodies to co-exist and uplift each other.

Today, nation-wide discussions involving major decisions, affecting the prosperity of thousands of people, challenge leaders to have open minds to others’ perspectives and experiential knowledge, and to have cooperative minds. Instead of approaching the government as a service body for people, the industry only for the economy of the country, and arts for entertainment, leaders and board members should consider how one industry can influence and help in the development of the other. A cooperative mindset, if developed in the young minds of the country can be very beneficial for its prosperity.

Competition, although sometimes the cause for the rat race mindset of people, trampling one to get ahead of another, isn’t a very bad virtue. The healthy competition gives people an idea of their capabilities, once they become aware of their peers' achievements. It also motivates and inspires them to dream and challenge their own limitations.

Apart from co-operation and competition, there are a lot of virtues and skills that are essential for leaders to contribute well to their roles. These involve a critical mind to understand the functioning of their area of work, the system involved, the culture and traits of the people, great management of people involved by their knowing strengths and weaknesses etc. So leadership demands a lot more qualities than just co-operation and a competitive mindset.

Although the claim points out cooperation, a missing quality in the leaders with competitive minds,it is not just the only quality required to fulfil a role sometimes. Hence, young people require different skills for fulfilling different roles and just co-operation might not be sufficient sometimes.