To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea of studying major cities to understand the primary characteristics of society can come from a perception that it consists of people migrated from different parts of the country, hence, could give a good combination of people for any survey needed. These migrators coming from different areas with diverse traditions could give a good understanding of the cultural aspects of society. Big cities can also give an idea of the economic and thinking standards of a society to an extent.

However, studying just the city people wouldn't reflect the characteristics of an entire society. If you take India for example, the different prominent arts and cultures are deep-rooted in certain rural parts of the country. The prominence of dance traditions like Kuchipudi, Kathak, and Bharata Natyam can be well understood by studying the native areas where they originated. The different regional festivals of the society aren't widely celebrated generally in the cities, so a piece of huge information on their parts is lost by neglecting the rural areas.

The different regional professions like hand-looming etc. depict the features of society widely. cities dumped with corporate people working mostly in multinational companies cannot account for all the diverse professions practices across the whole society. also, the economical stature of society varies hugely across the cities, towns, and villages. The problems and drawbacks faced by rural and tribal areas are vital characteristics that will be missed out by focusing only on cities.

hence, even though cities comprising of people from various parts of the society can account for a basic idea of the characteristics of a society, it cannot cover the diverse traditions, arts, and economic conditions practiced across the society which affect the society as a whole a lot.