The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that Corpora’s citizens meeting adequate fitness standards have reduced from half population to one-quarter of it within the last twenty years. As medical experts attribute this decline to the rising use of computers, the argument claims that it is due to the decline in the economy while making some assumptions.

As the overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where computer ownership is also highest, the argument assumes that computer usage hasn’t affected the fitness standards of the people there at all. The fitness levels of these regions could be high because of the great encouragement of sports in this place resulting in many sport-training centres, availability of many parks and gyms for daily exercise. The fitness levels could also be maintained because of the crops prominently grown, and diet followed by people traditionally. Even though high computer usage might have a negative effect on the fitness of the people there, there could be many other factors as mentioned above that positively contributed to it. So, the assumption that computer usage had no negative impact on fitness standards doesn’t hold true in the above cases.

The other assumption made in the argument is that low expenditures on fitness-related products & services are because of the decline of the economy. The low expenditures on these products can be because of the declining enthusiasm for fitness and using this money to buy computers. It could also be because of increasing prices of primary needs like education, health or food items in the region resulting in the in-affordability of people on the fitness equipment. Also, the per cent of the decline in consumption of fitness products can be far high not in proportion of the decline in the economy. This assumption that the economy is the only factor that affected fitness-products consumption stays unwarranted in the above cases.

Even if we consider that expenditure on fitness-products reduced because of the economy, there is no proof that once the economy gets secure, the interest of people on fitness would spring up. They could be deviated by other activities in the meantime like singing, crafting, painting, etc. And they might spend their incomes on products related to those arts instead of fitness products even when the economy rises back.

Thus, when the above assumptions prove unwarranted, the resurging of the economy might not help in improving fitness levels of the people of Corpora. Hence the argument is weak and requires more information on the negative impact of computer usage and economy on fitness levels of the people.