Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument asserts that more viewers and local advertising revenues can be attracted by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level. The argument informs that a lot of complaints from viewers has been concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, an analysis has to be made if these complaints are on the decrease of time coverage of regional news only or related to other reasons too. They could be because of losing coverage on primary aspects of the region and covering less important news or lacking authenticity of the news or because of news biased to certain parties. News channels are subject to such complaints and analysis on viewers dissatisfaction has to be conducted. Also, the number of viewers that increased because of more coverage on the national news has to be accounted for and the net change in the number of viewers has to be looked at.

Also, the argument assumes that losing contracts of local advertisers is because of the decrease of coverage of local news by implying from the occurrence that most of the complaints were also regarding the coverage of weather and local news. The cancellation of these contracts could be because of high charges involved with this channel or any channel offering cheaper prices with the same amount of viewers coverage. It could also be because of other interesting programs being telecasted in another channel and users willing to stick to it more than this channel. As there could be factors influencing this, a survey or feedback from the advertising companies has to be taken to get more understanding. A study of how many viewers have been watching the channel before the news bulletin can also help if losing viewers is because of other programs.

Hence, the argument that restoration of the time devoted to weather and local news has to be made to attract viewers and advertisers back is weak and more evidence is required to support the argument.