Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Individuals accepting unjustified laws seems a rude statement. However, asserting that every individual should obey only those laws, which he/she realizes justified, is also a risky statement. I believe both the pros and cons are attached to this obedience or disobedience.

Firstly, let’s focus on the pros of the statement in the question. On providing each individual, the freedom to decide, if a particular law seems right promotes equality. Rules are made by people only, as per the situations and need to be regularly updated. This renewal as per the requirement can only happen if people tend to start opposing rules which are not for them or in line with the need of the time. For example, assume a country passed a law for a limit on the number of children a couple could have, say 1. This rule was adopted maybe because the country was facing a high population crisis, but now the situation is under control. So, in the current case, this law has to be amended or resisted, or else people could soon face an existential crisis or lack of youth population.

Also, the gall to disobey among the people will provide feedback to the system of law. Rules would be comprehensive in terms of including the interests of all. For example, a government can pass or retain laws which are favorable for the rich, and not very comforting for the poor ones. Immediate resistance to these policies will lead to better governance.

Although we feel more democratic after asserting that the citizens must rebel or reject the laws they disagree with, we have some cons attached to this freedom as well. It’s hard to say that individuals are the right ones to decide the justness of any law. At least not all. Once we provoke every citizen to rebel against whatever they feel wrong will create chaos. Governance is not possible in such a scenario. Laws are passed, considering the overall benefit they can provide. It means we will have some tradeoffs to handle or the bill wouldn’t be fruitful to all sections of the society. This complexity is the reason we elect capable people to represent mostly all the sections and interests of a community.