In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument discusses about a city whose residents, as per the mentioned survey, are fond of water sports. And the author therefore, insists on development around the Mason river, which flows through the city, to facilitate citizens with the reverside recreational activities within thier city. The intent is justifiable but there are evident assumptions in the proposal for a greater proportion of the city's budget to develop these facilities. Firstly, the question is on the qulaity of survey. There are no details mentioned regarding the identity and the survey credibility mentioned. We need to know, what previous accomplishments this survey has achieved by suggesting some development for a city based on the conclusion their survey results has claimed. Also, the details regarding the count or type of people used for conducting this survey. We need to sure with these details before coming to the conclusion, that the people of this city actually desire this development in their city. Secondly, there is an assumption if they develop the local river, the people who have shown interest in the water sports are likely to plan their activities for this river as well. It can be the case, those people perform these activities when they are on vacations or holiday trips. And, since people most likely plan vacations to places other than their city, the recreational plan will not attract their intended audience. Thirdly, state has recently announced cleaning up of the Mason river but there is no mention of the duration and upto what time they have claimed to complete the cleaning. It's important to understand the details of the announcement, as accordingly planning for recreational activities can be conducted. It can be the case, the timelines and the procedures involved in the state's plan would not even allow city to start recreational development alongside. So, it doesn't make sense to pull extra budget for recreational development this year atleast.