Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

The topic is regarding the role of individuals in managing their society. The query is about, whether people should oblige only to just laws and disobey others, or accept what they are getting. I support people should raise objections to what they consider as wrong but that objection has to be in certain limits.

First reason, why am I inclined towards promoting citizens to object is because of the necessary change in rules with time. Every law, made by our administrators, needs to be monitiored for any change required ,to maintain the viability of that particular one. For example, in my country, India, there is a law on reservation for socially backward castes in various fields like representation in parliament, seats in educational institutions, work areas, etc., This law was passed when India after independence from British people, in mid 20th century, was in a horrible state, especially in terms of racism. To improve this state, we needed this change but now, that state has changed. People from backward castes as well have gained higher status in society by getting good education and opportunities. This is where, people really need to start objecting this law based on caste, as it no longer working towards upliftment of the weaker section, the reason it was implemented. Although, politicans or elected leaders have this duty, but they are afraid of losing their vote bank.

Secondly, the resistance towards unfavorable rules will provide robustness in our system of law. For instance, in a country like India, where we have wide variety of people living, there are lots of continuous amendments that can take place to build a constitution, that would treat each community alike. Take the case of marriage. In our country, its illegal to have two wives. But, since people from Muslim community has some religious thing, which allows a man to have multiple wives. So, for this our constitution does exempt people of this religion from that specific law. This happened because of the followers of that religion, who protested against the law of single marriage. These exceptions and amendments will help in maintaining support from all the communities for our national administration.

In addition to the benefits mentioned above, some issues needs consideration which can challenge our position to support rebel against improper rules. Firstly, by saying every individual should start protesting against any rule he didn’t like doesn’t make sense. It’s hard to determine the justifiability of any rule. Some rules made for adverse situation of any section, could be having a limiting effect on the other section. Law making requires rigorous analysis and should be finalized based on the most benefitting situation for the society as a whole.

Also, frequent resistance and disobedience, in a unruly manner will never lead to a stable management. An administration cannot rule over a community where each individual is ready to threaten the authority in any order goes beyong his/her liking. In conclusion, I would state objecting to unseemly rules is justified only if this objection is well analyzed and also performed through proper civilized channels. Every individual’s problem or objection shouldn’t be allowed to hamper the peacefully working system, unless all decent ways have been tried out and the change being requested is really crucial for the society.